askerian: Serious Karkat in a red long-sleeved shirt (Sasuke_Kneel Bitch - looking at the sky)
askerian ([personal profile] askerian) wrote2009-05-29 08:22 am
Entry tags:

Naruto 449



-Naruto AND Nagato are the child of prophecy? You know, I think I like that. That Naruto would have the resolve and Nagato the power. Of course Nagato's gonna kick it anyway but I liked the notion.

-Kakashi and his dad = ♥♥♥ ... Also I'm so HAPPY that someone actually mentioned someone's mother and gave her a little importance. *stares at Yondy* >__> yay for Kakashi getting some closure! and -- shit, his dad still hadn't moved on? D: Whoa.

-I now officially ship Kakashi/Chouji. Kakashi almost ended his life to save Chouji... Now he wakes up on his lap... Yep yep, shipping it.

... I keep imagining Chouza threatening Kakashi with a sawn off shotgun if he breaks his baby boy's heart.

-Konan giving Naruto flowers = .. BWAHAHAH. I know it was supposed to be symbolic and moving but AHAHAHA. XD

-Also happy about Konan showing some emotional attachment to Yahiko's body. Yesh.

-SASUKE OMG. SASUKESASUKESASUKE. SOON, MY PRECIOUS. reunion omg team seven reunion yes please please please. *happyflail*

Also team taka lounging = socute. it's too bad the scan is horrible qhality and kishi doesn't seem to have detailed them too much anyway. it looks like they're wearing different clothes than usual? I'm interested. XD


I think my only problem with the chapter is that... I read over the whole arc recently, and when you read it all in one go it was very obvious that Kakashi wasn't dead. Not enough buildup, not enough of a sense of closure -- the daddy issue was one thing, but he has teammate and student issues too and they weren't adressed, and being held in limbo as he talked only made it more obvious that meant he wasn't going toward death either, and then there was the refusal of anyone to CONFIRM he was dead, to say the words -- Tsunade, Chouza... and Kishi too. When sidebars say stuff like "Naruto blahblah Jiraiya's death and Kakashi's (disappearance or some othr euphemism)", it becomes kind of obvious that Kakashi's status is different from Jiraiya's. So it would make a lot of sense that he's on the brink of death, but he somehow pulls through or someone notices and saves him.

And since lots of people were killed when their souls were torn out, it also makes sense that there's a jutsu to give the souls back!

The problem is that Kakashi wasn't "killed" via his soul being torn out. He was crushed with a rock and then used way too much chakra in order to save Chouji's life. So it doesn't make sense that Pain's jutsu would also fix him somehow.

Basically... I don't have a huge problem with characters cheating death in this arc. I just have a problem with the fact that it would be a lot more believable if it were either one type of dead (de-souled) who come back, or another (Kakashi) -- not both.

I understand how Pain's jutsu would give people their souls back, but what about the guys who were chomped by summons or crushed by falling debris? There must have been some, right? I understand he's supposed to have more chakra than a lot of people out here and that his Rinnegan is legendary for a reason, and there's a precedent to reviving people with Chiyo, but resouling hundreds of people + fixing their bodies so they don't just croak again...

Wait, it's a kids' story, we're not supposed to imagine people trapped like reverse zombies in bodies that refuse to kick it even though they really should. Too bad, it would be kinda cool. >D

I suppose I should have assumed instead that all the ninjas ninja'd out of the way of the chomping teeth and falling buildings and only got to die via Pain capturing. But damn, there were only six Pain bodies; they must have been hella fast with the grabbing and scanning. *... has totally stupid random idea about cashier!Pain* *cough* ahem.

... if he could bring back to life even people he hasn't killed himself, why is Yahiko still dead?


But anyway. I know some people will be all OMG CHEATIIINGGGGG but... Shounen story. Aimed at 13 year olds. It wasn't too surprising that the death toll would be much lower than it seems somehow. I'm still kinda bothered by how fast nagato went over to the side of light but... whatev.


i dun care so long as we get team seven reunionnnnnnn~
tephra: (fangirl squee)

[personal profile] tephra 2009-05-29 06:58 am (UTC)(link)
I forgave all when Kakashi sat up. :D

As for Yahiko, his soul passed on before Pain learned Stuff Souls Back In no Justu?
tephra: Photo portrait of a doll with shaggy, dark orange and copper hair, wearing a pink slouchy hat and sky blue glasses. (Default)

[personal profile] tephra 2009-05-29 03:11 pm (UTC)(link)
I don't know how much of my reaction is liking Kakashi in particular and how much is No Team 7 Members May Die, Ever! Though I do like Kakashi a great deal. I suspect it's because I got into Naruto through the anime, dubbed, and didn't start reading the manga until Konohamaru did the yaoi no jutsu trick. :D As a 30 something it was a lot easier to relate to Kakashi than the kids in the early anime.

Someone needs to write the Kakashi/Chouji crack pairing.

Maybe it doesn't work if the person sacrifices himself like Yahiko did?

[identity profile] sarolynne.livejournal.com 2009-05-29 06:59 am (UTC)(link)
I think it helps for me to remember that Naruto's target audience isn't that much different than Avatar's was. It's not an adult story that's going to get super dark.

Low expectations leads to less disappointment.

(I'm hoping we get more info about Naruto's mama eventually. I have a crack theory, but we won't get into that. XD)

[identity profile] sarolynne.livejournal.com 2009-05-29 07:09 am (UTC)(link)
You know how Naruto only has the male half of Kyuubi's chakra available to him? Like, he doesn't have access to both parts?

I like to imagine the other half of Kyuubi's chakra isn't sealed in Naruto out of his reach, but is actually sealed in his mama. Then she had to leave because 1) no one would trust her either and as an adult, more so. And 2) it's too dangerous for them to be in one place together. The Kyuubi wants to be whole again.

Theory might be a strong word, because I don't believe it, but I like the idea? |D

[identity profile] sarolynne.livejournal.com 2009-05-29 07:32 am (UTC)(link)
It would even explain why Naruto doesn't know anything about her--for most of his life, Kyuubi has been kept a secret from him, and everyone around him. Mentioning Mom, and why Mom isn't there? Could be a problem. u.u

[identity profile] joisbishmyoga.livejournal.com 2009-05-29 12:04 pm (UTC)(link)
Itachi/Kushina would be a little creepy, I think. In the way that Bigbro's boinking Mama and LilBro's doing #1 only Son. Something vaguely incestous about that, reminds me of the last question in one of my high school Bio tests... listen to the song "I'm My Own Grandpa", chart the family tree. (Something like the guy's married to the mother of his father's second wife, so his (step)daughter is his (step)mother and his son's his father's brother(-in-law) which makes his son his uncle and the son's mother his grandmother and heeeeee's his ooooooown grandpaaaaaaa. And to make matters worse, his father's second son is his (half-)brother and his (step)daughter's son, which makes his wife his brother's grandma and heeeeee's his oooooown grandpa (again). AND I HAD TO CHART THAT. WAAAAH.)

[identity profile] rosalui.livejournal.com 2009-05-29 12:24 pm (UTC)(link)
:D I love how nearly everyone doesn't seem to care about the cheesiness of the "handy-dandy-no-jutsu" as Questy called it, just because we're all so happy to see Kakashi. XDDDD YAY KAKASHIIIII!!!!!!!!!!!!

AND HI SASUKE. I KNOW KONOHA IS ALIVE AGAIN, BUT PLEASE DON'T GO DESTROYING IT AGAIN, K?

[identity profile] nothri.livejournal.com 2009-05-29 01:06 pm (UTC)(link)
Wow....I guess if ever a Dues Ex machina was called for, it'd be by the guy that thinks he's freaking God, eh?

The bodies don't bother me so much. Remember he had that creepy god head thing that apparently regurgitated Pain's corpses whole and hardy no matter how bashed up they'd gotten. And Tsunade did do her omega heal with the forehead crystal and crap. Despite the thermonuclear jutsu, I'm betting a fair number of people were fairly intact after all this...

Danzou is going to be in some serious s**t if that jutsu revives poor little dead frog messenger that was supposed to summon Naruto back. Considering that Naruto did manage to stop that rampaging psychopath on his own, and might have done so without half of Konoha being leveled....yeah. You are so dead, sir. So dead. And this is without Sasuke showing up to tattle on your part in murdering his clan.

Speaking of which, do we have to leap instantly into the next arc? I'd like some freaking down time to catch everyone's breath and address some dangling plot threads (confession of love? Anyone? Hello?) and just generally get some relief from FIGHTFIGHTFIGHTFIGHTFIGHT!!!! after the 1000 years of Pain (I gave this arc a nickname based on the main villain and how long the story felt). Sasuke's great and all, but the timing just makes me groan.

[identity profile] yira-heerai.livejournal.com 2009-05-30 12:02 am (UTC)(link)
I guess Yamato gets to be useful and build a couple dozen instant houses. He should have been called Captain Awfully Convenient, that one. XD

Yamato and Naruto, probably. I can see Naruto going max kagebushin and doing most of the work himself if he can because 1.) It needs to be done; 2.) he probably feels responsible; 3.) Everyone else can focus on the actual people that are hurt/dead in desperate need of food and all that other post-disaster stuff.

...Really want to see him talk to Tsunade and Kakashi all "Oh while Kyuubi was rampaging, I got to see the 4th." Their faces, their FACES.
(deleted comment)

[identity profile] ellenel13.livejournal.com 2009-05-29 03:01 pm (UTC)(link)
Uzumakinity made me giggle.


I didn't get disappointed by this arc because I stopped expecting to be wow'd by Naruto a long time ago. And I say this as one of the people who actually enjoyed the Itachi reveal. I mean, the writing on this was particularly shittier than usual, but I'm easy and happy that Kakashi-fluffles is still alive so whateves. At least the manga is going towards its end (which will probably last a bazillion chapters considering Kishi's abysmal pacing). And if the end sucks ass at least the massive BAWWWWWWWW of fandom will entertain me.
(deleted comment)

[identity profile] ellenel13.livejournal.com 2009-05-29 03:48 pm (UTC)(link)
I was actually impressed with the very first fight between Orochimaru and Sasuke. I knew that Sasuke was obviously not going to die, but I still felt anxious about what was going to happen. I also liked the storyline of back when Gaara was a total psycho and I was really moved when Gaara apologized to his siblings. After the timeskip, I enjoyed when Sakura fought Sasori and, like I said, I enjoyed the Itachi reveal even though it was flawed in a lot ways. For me, Kishi is always a hit and miss. Sometimes I'm like Kishi you got me and other times I'm LOL KISHI LOL.

And I guess I understand why feeling cheated after a story you enjoy starts sucking because the writing turns really bad. I guess I can't care that much because I stopped being emotionally invested in Naruto so I take everything in stride. I mean, I still read the manga, I still care about what happens to Team 7, and I still read the fanfic and the meta. I even enjoy the batshit fandom. Still, if I was a fan of Pain or Konan I'd probably be pissed.

I mean, I still care about the FMA and I'm still really enjoying the manga and the last few chapters have been really cool. I'm even ejoying the new anime. But I felt really bad at how the old anime ended (and I overall liked it a lot) because Ed and Al ended up separated and that was completely unsatisfying to me. Still, as WTF as that ending was (LOL Squeenix), it doesn't really compare to the kind of wall bangers Kishi pulls.

[identity profile] the--ivorytower.livejournal.com 2009-05-29 03:54 pm (UTC)(link)
If it brought back every person that shouldn't have died, it should have brought back the Uchiha clan... though if I had to guess, it's got a time limit. If you died from time X to Y, you got brought back.

...I still find the whole think remarkably cheap.

[identity profile] rainxbows.livejournal.com 2009-05-29 06:12 pm (UTC)(link)
As the last ping rung out from the machine their items were being slid over, and the final stack of bananas fell into the plastic baggy, Sakura gave the most polite smile she could before taking all three big bags to show off that she wasn't some wimpy girl. And then politely gtfo'ing the store, the creepy contact'd unblinking stare starting to unnerve her, however bored the expression was.

Once they were safely outside the little shop though, she heaved a sigh.
"Did you see how many piercings that guy had? Holy frogs."
Sasuke just stared at him, eyes finally turning back once more.
"His name tag said 'Pein'."
Sakura couldn't help the gigglesnort.
"He's so emo he's got you beat, Sasuke-kun." She dumped off the bags on Sasuke before he could stomp off to tantrum.






baw I can't write when I first wake up. But LOL cashier!pein I couldn't resist."

delurking

[identity profile] jainas.livejournal.com 2009-05-30 02:24 pm (UTC)(link)
Honnêtement ? J'ai détesté ce chapitre de toute ma petite âme de fan de Naruto.

La résurrection de masse m'a donné l'impression d'être dans Narnia, et l'ai trouvé que la fin de l'arc était vraiment trop facile... Il y avait pourtant des éléments sympas (le fait que Naruto ET Nagato soient l'enfant de la prophecie), mais ils ont été extrêmement mal exploités : du point de la mise en page et du rythme de la narration c'était vraiment très mal raconté, avec l'emphase mise sur des moment inintéressant alors que les moments qui bien traités auraient pu vendre le tout aux lecteurs ont été totalement sous exploités.

Et puis les résurrections quoi ! J'aurais encore préféré que Kakashi reste mort. Berk.